It it 2am and I am in a state of questionable sobriety, but I didn’t want to go to sleep without putting on the record that I am very sorry I made so much fun of David Foster Wallace for the past few years. I learned of his apparent suicide through text message this evening and confirmed it here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/14/books/14wallace.html?hp

Although his writing was not to my taste, I remember each work I read of his quite vividly. From “The Depressed Person” to “The Girl with the Curious Hair,” even his footnotes have stayed with me. He had a singular voice and style, and a level of success and acclaim that is truly admirable. I’m sure people will have many more elequent tributes to pay to him in the next few days, for sure tomorrow at the Brooklyn Book Festival–I hope you’ll join me in reading and listening.

